TRIBAL CO-CHAIRS: W. Ron Allen Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe

Rick Harrison Chickaloon Nation

Lisa White Pipe Rosebud Sioux Tribe

Rick Harrison Chickaloon Nation

Karen Linnell, Chesh'na Tribe

EASTERN Cheryl Andrews-Maltais Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head Aquinnah

Kitcki Carroll United South and Eastern Tribes

EASTERN OKLAHOMA Palmer Mosely Chickasaw Nation

Janees Taylor Cherokee Nation

GREAT PLAINS Frank Star Comes Out Oglala Sioux Tribe

Lisa White Pipe Rosebud Sioux Tribe

MIDWEST Darrel Seki, Sr. Redlake Band Of Chippewa

Michelle Beaudin Lac Courte Oreilles

NAVAJO Dr. Buu Nygren Navajo Nation

Crystalyne Curley Navajo Nation

NORTHWEST W. Ron Allen Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe

Timothy Greene, Sr. Makah Tribe

PACIFIC Robert Smith Pala Band of Mission Indians

Russell Attebery Karuk Tribe

ROCKY MOUNTAIN Ted Russette, III Chippewa Cree Tribe

Bryce Kirk Fort Peck Tribes

SOUTHERN PLAINS Ronnie Thomas Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas

Deborah Dotson Delaware Nation

SOUTHWEST Dillon Shije Pueblo of Zia

Manual Heart Ute Mountain Ute Tribe

WESTERN Herminia Frias Pascua Yaqui Tribe

Michael Dallas, Sr. Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community

## Tribal Interior Budget Council Resolution #24-003

## **Title: Calling on the BIA Division of Transportation to Conduct a Third-Party Review of the Tribal Transportation Program Funding Distribution Formula**

WHEREAS, the Tribal Interior Budget Committee (TIBC) was created to provide a forum and process, consistent with the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act, Section 450(a)1 and Executive Order 13175 and the Department of Interior's (DOI) Government to Government policy, whereby Tribal nations and DOI work to develop policy and budgets that provide for 1) the DOI to fulfill its Treaty obligations and Trust responsibilities; and 2) the fulfillment of Tribal Nations' inherent sovereign rights of self-determination, self-governance, and governmental capacity to serve their citizens and communities; and

**WHEREAS**, the Surface Transportation Act was reauthorized in 2021 and is in effect through 2026; and

**WHEREAS**, the Surface Transportation Act includes a statutory funding distribution formula for the Tribal Transportation Program (TTP), also known as Tribal Shares; and

WHEREAS, the current TTP funding distribution formula, more commonly known as the MAP-21 formula, dates to 2012, and since its implementation, many Tribal Nations are negatively impacted by receiving less funding than their 2011 funding level as stipulated in the law; and

WHEREAS, because some Tribal Nations have not achieved their 2011 funding level, this has caused many Tribal Nations to question whether the existing formula is fair and equitable to all Tribal Nations and there needs to be a third-party review of the formula with recommendations for updating it prior to the process for reauthorization of the Surface Transportation Act; and

WHEREAS, another formula component that needs to be reviewed is a comparison of the population component, which currently uses the NAHASDA population for Tribal Nations, to the DOI's Certified Tribal Enrollment, a more recent population factor now being used by several agencies including the DOI, Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), Department of the Treasury, and the Department of Justice. **NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Tribal/Interior Budget Council requests the BIA Division of Transportation to contract with a third-party organization to conduct a review of the current TTP funding distribution formula, to examine ways it can ensure fairness for all Tribal Nations utilizing the TTP; and

**BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED**, the third-party review process should be implemented immediately, so that it may be completed before the start of FY 2026, when the process for reauthorization of the Surface Transportation Act will commence.

## CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the Tribal/Interior Budget Council at the November 22, 2024, Tribal/Interior Budget Council meeting held in Washington, DC, with a quorum present.

W. Ron Allen, Co-Chair Tribal/Interior Budget Council

Rick Harrison, Co-Chair Tribal/Interior Budget Council

Lisa White Pipe, Co-Chair Tribal/Interior Budget Council